My First Half Marathon

Today, I finally achieved the dream I started back in 2010 – to run the Oakland Half Marathon.

This was my first half marathon and it was more amazing than I could have imagined. I’m so proud of myself. Three years of new knowledge acquired and another achievement because of it.

I bought a shirt that says 13.1 on it 🙂

Oakland half marathon

My training plan called for an 11 mile run on this date, and I decided to walk the first mile, run 11, then walk a mile and run the last .1 mile to the finish. I was not out of breath the entire run because I had mentally prepared myself – acting as though this was just another Sunday long run for me. I took it easy and it paid off.

I was expecting a time of 1:40, but came in at 1:32 (very remarkable!).

Oakland Half, you will always hold a special place in my heart. =)

– runner since 1/15/2008

Leave a Reply

