Oakland Half Taper Week

Taper week starts tomorrow, one week before race day. The Jeff Galloway Half Marathon training plan (Time Goal Runners) calls for 5 miles. This past week has been a taper week for me since I’ve been home with a cold. I didn’t skip my training runs but did reduce from what I have been doing (from 5-6 down to 2.5-3 miles). This cold happened at the best time, the weekend right in between two of my three half marathons this month.

I’m really excited about the Oakland Half Marathon on the 23rd. I was/am hoping for a PR but if that doesn’t happen (I skipped most of the speed workouts), I will still be pleased at the strides in fitness I’ve made this year. The training was different this time around – weekday short runs were longer due to a local running buddy and every few weeks, I incorporated hills into the short weekday runs.

Taper week for me includes mental prep: What am I doing the day before the race, what will I eat the day before and planning logistics for getting to the race.

For next year’s half, I will certainly follow this training plan again and adhere more closely to the speed workouts. In addition, a running buddy with similar ability certainly has proven to be important for increasing endurance and confidence.

What is your favorite part of taper week?

Leave a Reply

