Golden Gate Trails Half Marathon (#12)

Wow, 12 half marathons in two years. Let’s let that sink in for a bit.

This was my second half marathon trail run and with 2400 feet of elevation gain it was certainly an accomplishment. I was tired for two days after and sore all over. The good kind of sore. No injuries!

Rivers throughout courseDuring the entire race it was either raining, down-pouring or raining with wind that stung like hail. I enjoyed every minute of it. =) The Orange Mud Hydroquiver double barrel was an excellent accouterment for this endeavor.

My calves started to tighten around mile 8 when I’d run the hills so I walked most of them. I didn’t mind the walking because this was a training run for a half in March. You can imagine how happy I was when even with the walking and the weather/trail conditions, I came in under my estimated time of 2:56 (official time 2:51)!

I kept my head in the game and this was the right distraction from life this particular weekend.

After finishing, I couldn’t help but smiling and filling with joy as I walked to the ocean and soaked my legs up to my thighs in the ocean. I mean, how often do you get to go into the ocean fully clothed with shoes and all?! I felt like a kid!

Ocean Ice Bath

In the stall of the bathroom at the restaurant pebbles kept coming out of my shoes and my socks while I changed, which only reminded me of how much fun I just had. Brunch included recovery eggs and potatoes along with a gang of November Project friends.

Before the start, fellow NP

Beer and a bubble epsom salt bath followed at home to round out a fantastic Sunday.

Soreness/Injury Report

  • Pre-race Injury: No injury. Spasming back. Tight hamstrings.
  • Taped: Both knees, hamstrings, calves.
  • During: A couple of times the calves tightened and so I walked. My hamstring was only slightly tight on the run.
  • Post Race: Not much stretching after the race. 5 minutes of soaking in the ocean. 1 hr drive home. Took a salt bath after I got home.
  • Day after: Sore hamstrings, quads, neck, shoulders, back. Calves were a little sore, not bad at all!
  • Two days after race: Sore hamstrings, quads, shoulders.

Golden Gate Trail Coastal Trails Elevation 2015

Leave a Reply

