Livermore Half Marathon (#14)

Birthday Weekend Half Marathons (double trouble)!!

 

The last long run before this race was Monday at a quick clip of 5 .5 miles.  The weather looked cool but at the pre-race warmup, realized that I didn’t need the sleeves because it was on the humid side. Warmer than expected.

 

 

I taped everything because I didn’t want to feel the calf soreness since Monday and didn’t want to strain anything because I am running another 13.1 tomorrow.

After mile 6, I slowed down. It was a warm day, there were hills, there were long stretches, I was tired. But! At mile 12, T was waiting with this sign which fueled the last mile of the race – I did it without stopping to walk.

Goal was under 2:15 and I accomplished it!

My two friends were waiting for me at the finish. So glad to have them with me on my birthday weekend.

Outfit Report

  • Pearl Izumi hat
  • Athleta headband – the next one I get will be from Pearl Izumi
  • Last year’s Livermore #RunLiv premium t-shirt
  • Champion Sports Bra
  • Sports Basement Pace Band tattoo
  • Manzella lightweight Gloves
  • Nike Plus Sport Watch
  • XtremeMac iPhone holder
  • RoadID Slim Wrist band
  • Orange Mud Race belt – This allows for all sizes of bibs without puckering. Also, I love their hydroquiver.
  • Skirt Sport Skirt – the one with the long pocket down the right side, perfect to hold my chapstick close at hand!
  • A standard money belt that you would take traveling to carry Pro Bar Bolts, money, ID, keys, (chapstick), and tissues.
  • Patagonia Active Hipster Briefs
  • Lucy Run Capris – I love that they have reflective strips on both sides!!!
  • Kinesio Tape
  • Injinji toe socks – they just came out with a women’s specific run sock that I can’t wait to try out.
  • Newton Distance U (retired by Newton)
  • Shwings

Fuel Report

  • Morning Of: Oatmeal with crasins, almonds, brown sugar and cinnamon; 1 cup hot caffeinated tea with splenda; nature valley crunchy oat bar.
  • During: 1 pack of Pro Bar Bolts with caffeine; 1/2 package Pro Bar Bolt without caffeine; 1/2 kidz clif bar, chocolate chip; water.
  • After: Banana, Purity Peach, Kidz clif peanut butter protein bar; french fries; fruity drink;
  • Tried eating but body said NO!: Kind bar; Pulled pork; baked beans

Soreness/Injury Report

  • Pre-race Injury: No injury. Sore calves since Monday after 5.5 mile 10 min/mile run.
  • Taped: Both knees, hamstrings, groin, calves.
  • During: Calf soreness @ mile 10.
  • Post Race: Stretched well after the race (Thanks to T). Lunch in Livermore, 1 hr commute home. Took a ice bath after I got home. No stretching or exertion after that.
  • Day after (and before next half marathon): Sore calves. Stiff back in starting corral.
  • Two days after race: See Rock n Roll Half Marathon Report

Course Elevation

Screen Shot 2015-03-29 at 9.37.36 PM

2 thoughts on “Livermore Half Marathon (#14)

  1. Pingback: Rock ‘n’ Roll SF Half (#15) | SF Moto Run Chick

  2. Pingback: Back to Back Half Marathons | SF Moto Run Chick

Leave a Reply

