Rock ‘n’ Roll SF Half (#15)

Birthday Half marathon!!

Weather Forecast

The weather was predicted to be the same temperature as yesterday’s race, but I wasn’t going to be fooled. And I was right. Because of the clear night sky overnight, I was quite chilly in the start corral with my sleeves and headband on. At gear drop off for the previous day’s half marathon I knew I wouldn’t need the sleeves even though there was a slight chill in the air. Today, however, I kept them with me!

Race Report

There was a small group of November Project folks who gathered before the start for a photo. I ended up seeing the twins at the end as they walked back up the course with their medals and they called my name out. =)

First hill of the race! I had to pause to get a picture of this. The streets of SF are so dead on Sunday mornings. It was almost eerie. Also, the run crowd for this race were not talkers. Usually there are little conversations going on and there’s a low hum of noise, but this crowd was quiet for the WHOLE race.

Half way through the race, on the other side of Golden Gate Bridge, I was able to pull down my arm sleeves and take off my headband. What a great picture. I love the lone rock in the water.

My friend sprinted the last 1/2 of a mile to the point where it was difficult for me to keep up with her. What an accomplishment! I’m so happy for her and glad she chose to spend my birthday morning with me. Here we are, very happy and tired in front of the courthouse.

I received a handful of happy birthday wishes today, and even more yesterday when I wore this sign. People were so friendly in Livermore.

My new visor is a birthday present from my friend who ran with me and worked out perfectly for the first time wearing it!

Outfit Report

Fuel Report

  • Morning Of: Oatmeal with crasins, almonds, brown sugar and cinnamon; 1 cup hot caffeinated tea with splenda.
  • During: 1 package Pro Bar Bolt without caffeine; water; Gatorade at aid station mile 4 and 10.
  • Right After: Banana; chocolate milk; Zone bar, chocolate mint; Nuun; Sambazon Strawberry Lemon Acai drink;
  • Tried eating but body said NO!: N/A – I did not eat anything that my body revolted at

Soreness/Injury Report

  • Pre-race Injury: Sore calves and back from the half marathon the day before.
  • Taped: Both knees (1 strip each), hamstrings (2 each), groin (1 each), calves (3 each).
  • During: Calf soreness the entire race. Top of right foot hurt (like shoes were too tight).
  • Post Race: Stretched well after the race (thanks to T). Hung out with NP in Hayes, stretched, stayed mobile then commuted home. Took a ice bath after I got home. Knees were swollen and hurt walking down hills and after sitting for long periods. Hung out in Dolores and kept shifting positions. In the evening, iced knees, calves, and back. Calves stiffened after ice (ice for knees, heat for calves?).  Lightly stretched before bed.
  • Day after Half #15 (two days after Half #14): Calves, back, knees were a little stiff in the morning. Sore calves all day long. Knees hurt when going down stairs. Right foot near big toe swollen and hurts when I lift up big toe. Went to PT who massaged calves and said metatarsal is stiff on right foot. She advised to not do any hills for awhile and do easy runs to allow calves time to heal. Strength training is needed for calves.
  • Two days after race #15: Ran slowly for 1/2 mile and walked 1.5 miles. My foot is still hurting and swollen. My calves when warm are not sore. My back still has some soreness.

Course Elevation

Rock n Roll SF Elevation

2 thoughts on “Rock ‘n’ Roll SF Half (#15)

  1. Pingback: Livermore Half Marathon (#14) | SF Moto Run Chick

  2. Pingback: Back to Back Half Marathons | SF Moto Run Chick

Leave a Reply

